Awards and Grants

FATE’s mission to support, sustain and improve the standards of Theatre Arts education in Florida’s schools has led the organization to establish three ways of recognizing and fostering better theatre education: scholarships, grants and awards.

Theatrefolk FATE Scholarship Application

Theatrefolk logo

Theatrefolk, one of our most beloved partners and sponsors, are once again offering conference scholarships for teachers who need a bit of financial help to attend. The application deadline has concluded as of May 31, 2024.

The Ann Derflinger Scholarship

Named to honor the co-founder and first president of The Florida Association for Theatre Education, the Derflinger scholarships are awarded to Florida theatre educators who wish to further their studies at the graduate level. Funds for this scholarship are raised every year during the annual October conference and through sponsorships.

If you’re a theatre educator and are interested in a scholarship to help with your graduate level studies then

Ann Derflinger Scholarship Application Form

Apply Online

Mental and Physical Health Awareness Production Grant

This program is designed to provide moderate support for Florida theatre teachers to enable them to implement health awareness projects with their students. Thanks to the generous donation of autographed Broadway posters by the organization Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS. These posters are auctioned at FATE’s annual conference each year to raise the funds for these grants.

Please send a Production Proposal to the Executive Director.

Awards for Outstanding Leadership

Each year FATE seeks to recognize individuals or organizations who have made important contributions to the state of Theatre Arts education in Florida. We ask for nominees in four categories:

  • Outstanding Theatre Arts Educator
  • Outstanding Administrator
  • Outstanding Theatre Arts Advocate
  • Outstanding Legislator

The nominations are screened by a committee of FATE members and are presented during the annual October conference.

Nominate an Outstanding Leader

Nominate Online